Autumn 2016


Celestial Barcode



The concept of zodiac originates in Babylonian astrology, 3rd millennium BC. According to astrology, celestial phenomena relates to human activity on the principle of 'as above, so below', so that the signs are held to represent characteristic mode of expression.

I do not fully understand the stars from a geometrical point of view, but, I believe, I have the insights into four classical elements, identified as Fire, Earth, Air and Water. They are all equal, of the same age. Each rules its own province, and each possesses its own individual character. Different mixtures of these elements produce the different nature of things, that is why we interpret and relate to the world, our own selves and each other, in different, unique ways. NATURE. It's a big word, agree? I am talking here about the inborn, not a hereditary determinant of personality.

In Latin - Natura - means 'birth, nature, quality.' I call it a natural force, which is responsible for physical life and exists independently of human activities. Nature is humankind's original (natural) uncontrolled condition, simplifies the Dictionary of Cambridge.

I believe our nature can be modified only slightly.

Many of us are not in-tuned with our nature at all. Others deplore it, even deny it. Especially when it comes to the so called 'negative' forces like sadness, melancholy, apathy, procrastination, depression, etc. In our culture they are classified as being forces of the dark. Like it or not, they are part of everyone's nature. In bigger or smaller amounts. 

I am psychologically-oriented believer in stars. I also feel people's energy fields - auras.*


today I'll share with you a broad understanding of my own, drawn from the encounters with other two water signs, my sisters and brothers, Scorpios and Pisces. Beside myself, the Cancer girl. On topic: how do we relate to darkness.


Before I begin, there is a list of a few significant facts to take into an account.


According to the astrological polarity, Water signs are considered to be negative (or introvert) feminine signs.

All three considered, as direct equivalent to Hippocrates personality types, as being melancholic.

All three are self-containing, masters of emotions, empathy and sensitivity.

That is what we have in common.

What differs, are:

(1) Astrological modalities.

Cancer is a cardinal sign. It means he/she is dynamic, initiative, and most of the times - in action. Great force.

Scorpio is a fixed sign. He/she is resistant to change, inflexible, and has great will power.

Pisces are a mutable sign. Flexible, adaptable, and resourceful.

(2) Different planets. Planets have energies of their own (positive and negative) which highly influence the zodiac signs.

Cancer's planet is The Moon.* The Moon represents the basic nature of our instincts and feelings. It has a nurturing influence that gives a deep impression and unique sensitivity within the mind.

Scorpio is ruled by Mars (modern astrologers also suggest Pluto). Think of Mars as a double shot of espresso in the morning. Mars is fueled by passion, sex, love, death and rebirth. Pluto extends this power overboard.

Pisces, by Jupiter (Neptune). This is a kind and benevolent planet, one that wants us to grow and flourish in a positive way. As the guardian of the abstract mind, this planet rules higher learning (expansion).

(3) Different houses. The houses of the horoscope represent a specific area of life described in terms of physical surroundings as well as personal life experiences. 

Cancer - House of Home and Family (translates as Parent).

Scorpio - House of Reincarnation (translates as Death).

Pisces - House of Self-Doing (translates as Prison).

According to a mode of expression, houses are classified:

Angular - (keyword - Action) for Cancer.

Succedent - Security, for Scorpio.

Cadent - Learning, for Pisces.

According to the four classical elements (Fire, Earth, Air and Water), houses can be grouped together by triplicity, relating the signs to a level of experience.

Level of experience for all three Water signs - emotional, Soul.

No wonder we are most in-tuned with darkness.


In the next three posts you'll find a short generalisation of my own understanding of a classical knowledge of zodiac signs. There always be variations depending on our culture, intellectual background and psychological traumas. Also, this and that what it comes to the stars. If you are interested in people and the stars, you'll find plenty of information available nowadays via books and websites. Or, perhaps, you already know.

So I'll just tickle my own mind for a while, hehe




*You can either see, or feel auras.

*The Sun and The Moon are not exactly the planets. In astrology, they are The Lights. Five planets which rule the other ten signs (Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn) are the wanderers.


( be continuing)